Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join MWL
Site Search
WER June 2020 Members on the Move
Volume LXX, Issue IV

Published June 11, 2020

MWL News

Upcoming MWL Events

View all of MWL's Upcoming Events

2019-2020 Board of Directors

View all MWL Leadership

2020-2023 Strategic Plan


MWL Welcomes Your Comments

MWL Members on the Move


Shannon M. Harmon has joined the Hennepin County Attorney’s Office on the Operations Team of the Civil Division.  Shannon previously worked with the IRS Office of Chief Counsel and the Minnesota Attorney General’s Office and will be bringing her many years of tax, litigation, and public service experience to represent the County in property tax matters and provide advisory services in a variety of areas related to Hennepin County’s operations.  She is delighted to extend her career in public service at the state and federal levels to serve in this local government role.    



Kristin Haugen has joined Morneau Shepell as Vice President, Legal.  Morneau Shepell is the leading provider of technology-enabled human resources services, supporting mental, physical, social, and financial well-being through employee and family assistance programs (“EFAP”), health and wellness services, recognition tools, pension and benefits administration, retirement consulting, and actuarial and investment services. 



Judge Laura Moehrle - Governor Tim Walz announced the appointment of Laura Moehrle as District Court Judge in Minnesota’s Seventh Judicial District. This appointment will be chambered in St. Cloud.

“Laura Moehrle brings extensive legal experience to the Seventh Judicial District,” said Governor Walz. “Her breadth of knowledge, mastery of the law, and commitment to her community will serve the people of Minnesota well.”

“This position will allow Ms. Moehrle to continue her long history of service to the St. Cloud community,” said Lieutenant Governor Peggy Flanagan. “We’re honored to appoint her to the Seventh Judicial District vacancy, and are deeply grateful for Judge Kundrat’s years of service to Minnesota.”


Judge Susan Segal - Governor Tim Walz announced the appointment of the Honorable Susan Segal as Chief Judge of the Minnesota Court of Appeals. Judge Segal will serve the remainder of Chief Judge Edward J. Cleary’s term, which will expire on October 31, 2022. Judge Segal will be the second woman to serve as Chief Judge in the Court’s 36-year history.

“Judge Segal has not only risen to the challenge in her time on the Court of Appeals and as the Minneapolis City Attorney, she’s demonstrated her strengths as a creative problem solver, a mentor, and a passionate advocate for justice,” said Governor Walz. “She is a remarkable jurist and leader and it’s an honor to appoint her as Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals.”


Congratulations to MWL Members who received 2020 Excellence Awards by the Hennepin County Bar Association: Kathryn Johnson and Kirsten Schubert. The HCBA Excellence Awards honor individual members for contributions to the profession and the community.





Congratulations to MWL Board Director Dionne Blake of Target Corporation for her recognition as a Minnesota Lawyer In-House Counsel Award 2020 recipient. MWL also congratulates MWL member recipients including Trudi Trysla of Fairview Health Services, Marianne Short of UnitedHealth Group and Alison McElroy of Lift Brands. We’re grateful to each of you for your leadership and excellence in the profession.



 Back to Top





Minnesota Women Lawyers
600 Nicollet Mall, Suite 390B
Minneapolis, MN 55402

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal