Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join MWL
Site Search
News & Press: MWL News

MWL Welcomes its 2019-2020 Board of Directors

Monday, July 1, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Hannah Zuercher

Minnesota Women Lawyers is pleased to announce its 2019-2020 Board of Directors for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2019.


Amy Taber will assume the office of President. Amy Taber is Prime Therapeutics’ Employment and Litigation Senior Legal Counsel where she provides legal advice and support to Prime's human resources and facilities teams and assists with oversight of Prime's employment and general business litigation activities. Amy began practicing law in 2004 and was a partner at Barnes & Thornburg LLP before joining Prime. Prior to becoming a lawyer, she was a human resources professional for 10 years. Since joining the MWL Board as a Director in 2012, Amy has served in the role of Secretary and President-Elect. Amy is also a two-time recipient of the Service to MWL Award.

Breia Schleuss has been elected to the office of President-Elect. Breia Schleuss is a partner at Faegre Baker Daniels LLP, where she is a member of the Finance & Restructuring Practice Group and a co-chair of the firm’s Food & Agribusiness Industry team. Breia has been recognized as a Top Woman in Finance by Finance & Commerce, a Rising Star in banking by Super Lawyers, and a 2019 Emerging Leader by M&A Advisors. Among other board service, Breia serves on the Business Finance Advisory Committee of WomenVenture, the Board of Directors for the National Conference of Women’s Bar Associations, and the Cowles Council for the Cowles Center for the Performing Arts.

Kristin Haugen has been elected to the office of Treasurer. Kristin Haugen is a Solo Attorney at KC Haugen Law and an Attorney Business Development Coach for Rock Solid Consultants. As a coach and trainer, Kristin uses her personal experiences to coach other attorneys on managing their practices, building critical relationships and achieving their goals. Kristin is also a Co-Chair of MWL’s Development Committee and actively participates in MWL’s Networking Committee. 

Jennifer Robbins has been elected to the office of Secretary.
Jennifer Robbins (“Jenny”) is the Managing Partner at MADEL PA, where she represents Fortune 500 companies and individuals in plaintiff- and defense-side business litigation (e.g., antitrust, trade secret, complex class actions, regulatory matters) and white-collar criminal defense, government investigations, and matters alleging misconduct against professionals. Jenny also serves as Co-Chair of the Governance Committee.

Shannon Harmon will assume the office of Past-President. Shannon is an attorney with the IRS Office of Chief Counsel's Small Business/Self-Employed Division. Prior to joining Chief Counsel, Shannon served for more than nine years as an Assistant Attorney General with the Minnesota Attorney General's Office, including five years in the Charities Division and four years in the Tax Litigation Division. She is a graduate of New York University and the University of Minnesota Law School and a native of Cincinnati, Ohio. Since joining the MWL Board as a Director in 2011, Shannon has also served in the role of Secretary, Treasurer and President-Elect. In addition to serving on many other leadership roles across MWL, Shannon serves as the Chair of the Knitting Affinity Group. She is also a MWL Foundation Board Director and it's Past-President. 

A. Elizabeth Burnett, Robins Kaplan LLP; Susan Gallagher, Gallagher Law Office; Emerald Gratz, Minnesota Supreme Court; Poonam Kumar, DLA Piper LLP; Karen Opp, Korn Ferry, will serve two-year terms on the Minnesota Women Lawyers Board of Directors, beginning July 1, 2019.   

Ellen Ahrens
, MADEL PA; Kate Bruce, Optum; Calandra Revering, Revering Law and Consulting; Amy Schmidt, City of Bloomington; Mary Szondy, Attorney at Law, will serve the second year of their current terms on the Minnesota Women Lawyers Board of Directors.


The MWL Central, Northeastern, South Central and St. Croix Valley Chapters each elect a representative to serve on the Board. KyLee Manthei, Southern MN Regional Legal Services, will serve as the South Central Chapter representative; Kay Biga, Spott Law Office, will serve as the Northeastern Chapter representative; and Anne Brown, Sjoberg & Tebelius, PA will serve as the St. Croix Valley Chapter representative. The Central Chapter representative will be named shortly.

The women’s law student organizations at Minnesota three law schools each elect a member to serve as non-voting liaison to the Board. Taylor Gunderson will serve as the liaison for the University of Minnesota Law School. The University of St. Thomas Law School and Mitchell Hamline College of Law liaisons will be announced shortly.


Minnesota Women Lawyers is an association of nearly 1,300 attorneys, judges, law students, legal employers, and others who are dedicated to advancing the success of women attorneys and striving for a just society. 



Amy Taber, 2019-2020 President 

Debra Pexa, Executive Director


View a PDF of the news release here.


View complete information on the 2019-20 MWL Board of Directors here.


Minnesota Women Lawyers
600 Nicollet Mall, Suite 390B
Minneapolis, MN 55402

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal