Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join MWL
Site Search
News & Press: MWL News

MWL Welcomes its 2018-2019 Board of Directors

Monday, July 2, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Hannah Zuercher

MWL Welcomes its 2018-2019 Board of Directors

Minnesota Women Lawyers is pleased to announce its 2018-2019 Board of Directors for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2018.


Shannon Harmon will assume the office of President. Shannon is an attorney with the IRS Office of Chief Counsel's Small Business/Self-Employed Division. Prior to joining Chief Counsel, Shannon served for more than nine years as an Assistant Attorney General with the Minnesota Attorney General's Office, including five years in the Charities Division and four years in the Tax Litigation Division. She is a graduate of New York University and the University of Minnesota Law School and a native of Cincinnati, Ohio. Since joining the MWL Board as a Director in 2011, Shannon has also served in the role of Secretary, Treasurer and President-Elect. In addition to serving on the MWL Board and many other leadership roles across MWL, Shannon serves as the Chair of the Knitting Affinity Group. She is also a MWL Foundation Board Director and it's Past-President. 


Amy Taber has been elected to the office of President-Elect. Amy Taber is Prime Therapeutics’ Employment and Litigation Senior Legal Counsel where she provides legal advice and support to Prime's human resources team and assists with oversight of Prime's employment and general business litigation activities. Amy began practicing law in 2004 and was a partner at Barnes & Thornburg LLP before joining Prime. Prior to becoming a lawyer, she was a human resources professional for 10 years. Amy earned a BS from Iowa State University, a MBA from the University of St. Thomas and a JD from the William Mitchell College of Law.

Breia Schleuss has been elected to the office of Treasurer. Breia Schleuss is a partner at Faegre Baker Daniels LLP, where she is a member of the Finance & Restructuring Practice Group and a co-leader of the Agribusiness Finance & Restructuring team. Breia represents commercial and investment banks, as well as other financial institutions and companies. Breia has been recognized as a Rising Star in banking by Super Lawyers and a Top Woman in Finance by Finance & Commerce. Among other board service, Breia serves on the Business Finance Advisory Committee of WomenVenture, a small business lender, and on the Board of Directors for the National Conference of Women’s Bar Associations and Minnesota Women Lawyers.

Kristin Haugen has been elected to the office of Secretary. Kristin Haugen is a Solo Attorney at KC Haugen Law and an Attorney Business Development Coach for Rock Solid Consultants. As a coach and trainer, Kristin uses her personal experiences to coach other attorneys on managing their practices, building critical relationships and achieving their goals. Kristin serves on MWL’s Board of Directors. She is also a Co-Chair of MWL’s Networking Committee and actively participates in MWL’s Development Committee. 

Kendra Brodin will assume the office of Past-President. Kendra Brodin serves as Director of Lawyer Talent at Briggs and Morgan, P.A. In her role, Kendra is responsible for attorney recruiting efforts, professional development programming, and diversity initiatives. Kendra earned her master’s degree in social work from the University of Pennsylvania and her law degree with honors from the University of Minnesota.

Ellen Ahrens, United States District Court, District of Minnesota; Kate Bruce, Optum; Calandra Revering, Revering Law and Consulting; Amy Schmidt, City of Bloomington; Mary Szondy, Attorney at Law will serve two-year terms on the Minnesota Women Lawyers Board of Directors, beginning July 1, 2018.   

Susan Gallagher, Gallagher Law Office; Emerald Gratz, Minnesota Supreme Court; Poonam Kumar, DLA Piper LLP; Alona Rindal, U.S. Bank; and Jennifer Robbins, MADEL PA, will serve the second year of their current terms on the Minnesota Women Lawyers Board of Directors.


The MWL Central, Northeastern, South Central and St. Croix Valley Chapters each elect a representative to serve on the Board. KyLee Manthei, Southern MN Regional Legal Services, will serve as the South Central Chapter representative; and Anne Brown, Sjoberg & Tebelius, PA will serve as the St. Croix Valley Chapter representative. The Central Chapter and Northeast Chapter representatives will be named shortly.

The women’s law student organizations at Minnesota three law schools each elect a member to serve as non-voting liaison to the Board. Hannah Reichenbach will serve as the liaison for Mitchell Hamline College of Law, and Taylor Gunderson will serve as the liaison for the University of Minnesota Law School. The University of St. Thomas Law School liaison will be announced shortly.

Minnesota Women Lawyers is an association of nearly 1,300 attorneys, judges, law students, legal employers, and others who are dedicated to advancing the success of women attorneys and striving for a just society. 



Shannon Harmon, 2018-19 President 

Debra Pexa, Executive Director


View a PDF of the news release here.


View complete information on the 2018-19 MWL Board of Directors here.


Minnesota Women Lawyers
600 Nicollet Mall, Suite 390B
Minneapolis, MN 55402

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal