Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join MWL
Site Search
News & Press: MWL News

MWL Welcomes its 2017-2018 Board of Directors

Wednesday, July 5, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Hannah Zuercher

Minnesota Women Lawyers is pleased to announce its 2017-2018 Board of Directors for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2017.

Kendra Brodin assumed the office of President beginning July 1, 2017. Kendra serves as Client Development Manager at the Minneapolis-based intellectual property law firm of Merchant & Gould, P.C. In her role, Kendra supports the creation and implementation of business development strategies at all levels of the firm. Kendra earned her master’s degree in social work from the University of Pennsylvania and her law degree with honors from the University of Minnesota.


Shannon Harmon has been elected to the office of President-Elect.  Shannon is an attorney with the IRS Office of Chief Counsel's Small Business/Self-Employed Division. Prior to joining Chief Counsel, Shannon served for more than nine years as an Assistant Attorney General with the Minnesota Attorney General's Office, including five years in the Charities Division and four years in the Tax Litigation Division. She is a graduate of New York University and the University of Minnesota Law School and a native of Cincinnati, Ohio. Shannon most recently served in the role of Treasurer of the MWL Board of Directors.


Breia Schleuss has been elected to the office of Treasurer. Breia Schleuss is a partner in the finance and restructuring practice group at Faegre Baker Daniels and represents commercial and investment banks, as well as other financial institutions and companies. She is also a leader of Faegre Baker Daniels' agribusiness finance practice. Breia most recently served in the role of Secretary of the MWL Board of Directors.


Amy Taber has been elected to the office of Secretary. Amy Taber is Prime Therapeutics's Employment and Litigation Senior Legal Counsel where she provides legal advice and support to Prime's human resources team and assists with oversight of Prime's employment and general business litigation activities. Amy began practicing law in 2004 and was a partner at Barnes & Thornburg LLP before joining Prime. Prior to becoming a lawyer, she was a human resources professional for 10 years. Amy earned a BS from Iowa State University, a MBA from the University of St. Thomas and a JD from the William Mitchell College of Law.

Connie Armstrong  assumed the office of the Past-President.  Connie is Associate General Counsel for McGough Construction Co., LLC in St. Paul. Prior to joining McGough Construction, Connie was a shareholder at a Minneapolis law firm who counseled businesses, contractors and employers in contract, construction and employment matters. Connie serves as a member of the Minnesota Air National Guard, currently assigned as the Deputy Mission Support Group Commander at the 148th Fighter Wing in Duluth. 

Susan Gallagher, Gallagher Law Office; Emerald Gratz, Minnesota Office of Administrative Hearings; Poonam Kumar, DLA Piper LLP; Alona Rindal, U.S. Bank; and Jennifer Robbins, MADEL PA were each elected to two-year terms on the Minnesota Women Lawyers Board of Directors. 

Kristin Haugen, KC Haugen Law; Michelle Looby, Gustafson Gluek; Brooke Nelson, Bernick Lifson, P.A.; Sarah Rohne, University of Minnesota Law School; and Mary Szondy, Attorney at Law, will serve the second year of their current terms.


The MWL Central, Northeastern, South Central and St. Croix Valley Chapters each elect a representative to serve on the Board. Anna Finstrom, Rinke Noonan will serve as the MWL Central Chapter representative and Amy Schmidt, City of Bloomington will serve as the St. Croix Valley Chapter representative. Additional chapter representatives will be named shortly.

The women’s law student organizations at Minnesota three law schools each elect a member to serve as non-voting liaison to the Board. Caroline Moos will serve as the representative from Mitchell Hamline and Ellen Hunt will serve as the representative from the University of Minnesota Law School. The University of St. Thomas School of Law representative will be named shortly

Minnesota Women Lawyers is an association of nearly 1,300 attorneys, judges, law students, legal employers, and others who are dedicated to advancing the success of women attorneys and striving for a just society. 



Kendra Brodin, 2017-18 President / 612-332-5300


Debra Pexa, Executive Director / 612-338-3205 

View a PDF of the press release here.


Minnesota Women Lawyers
600 Nicollet Mall, Suite 390B
Minneapolis, MN 55402

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal